powering up the board


Discussion for purchasers of our original IN-7 Nixie chessboard

Posts: 44

Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2012 8:49 pm

Post Wed Aug 07, 2013 4:43 pm

powering up the board

Tony,

I have the big Black circuit board. I have just started and installed the initial components and am ready to do the first test. But I am confused as to where to apply the power leads. Since this is DC power I will need to place the +ve and -ve power leads in the right spots. There are no markings on the board. Also, the pictures you have of the black boards do not show the correct location. Can you please help me.

Phil

Site Admin

Posts: 926

Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2012 8:05 pm

Post Wed Aug 07, 2013 5:14 pm

Re: powering up the board

It's shown in the 6th and last posts of the PCB assembly thread, second photo, under the original PCB:

http://www.lasermad.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=8&t=10&start=14

The black circle is hidden a bit by the background colour though. Connect +12V to the resistor next to the ferrite marked by the red circle and - to the diode lead marked (just) by the black circle.

Posts: 44

Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2012 8:49 pm

Post Wed Aug 07, 2013 5:22 pm

Re: powering up the board

Sorry still unable to see the black circle. should the power lead be attached to the negative side of the diode [ away from the black stripe]?

phil

Site Admin

Posts: 926

Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2012 8:05 pm

Post Wed Aug 07, 2013 5:33 pm

Re: powering up the board

Yes the -ve end of the 14V zener, closest to the PCB edge.

Posts: 44

Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2012 8:49 pm

Post Wed Aug 07, 2013 11:06 pm

Re: powering up the board

thanks a bunch Tony. Will eep you posted of progress

Posts: 2

Joined: Tue Jul 02, 2013 7:18 am

Post Tue Sep 24, 2013 3:25 am

Re: powering up the board

Hi Tony,

Have recieved the kit and am loving it. Truly is a masterpiece. :D
I have a fully built piece and a board coil, and am putting the board components on as per the instructions.
Im up to the stage of the first power test, and dont actually have a power supply as yet. Im off to buy one, but before i did, i thought id check a couple of details. I know it has to be a 12v DC supply, but what kind of amps will it need to supply? If i got a 12v DC 3A or 5A power supply would that be enough?

Cheers,
Lachlan

Site Admin

Posts: 926

Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2012 8:05 pm

Post Tue Sep 24, 2013 3:42 am

Re: powering up the board

For testing the first few coils you'll only need a couple of hundred milliamps. To run the completed board a 2.5-3A supply will be enough, I usually use the packs intended to supply LCD monitor panels.

Posts: 2

Joined: Tue Jul 02, 2013 7:18 am

Post Tue Sep 24, 2013 7:07 am

Re: powering up the board

Ahh, awesome. Ok, I think i may have a 12v DC 5A power supply, but thought that might be too much and was going to go and buy one.

Cheers,
Lachlan

Site Admin

Posts: 926

Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2012 8:05 pm

Post Tue Sep 24, 2013 2:49 pm

Re: powering up the board

No that'll be fine.

Return to Nixie Chessboard V1

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by ST Software